Email Fraud or Not?

December 4, 2007 · 11 comments

Hello Million Friends,

Here’s a great email I received last week from someone who wanted to buy my art. You’ll love this one.

Dear Chris,

I’m Mary Landry, I came across your work at http://painterskeys.com/ , I am interested in the purchase of your arts to beautify our new home, we are moving from our canadian home to Ukraine in a couple of weeks.

What is the price of the art below excluding the shipping cost?

(1) Shall We Camp? – oil painting – 18 x 18 inches
(2) Field Bouncer – oil painting – 30 x 40 inches

On the payment, I would be glad to pay you with a Personal Cheque, because this method of payment is instant cashable.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on how we can proceed.

Best regards,
Mary Landry

Here’s the email details:

From: Mrs M. Landry [mailto:ijovicks@yahoo.com]
Sent: Friday, November 30, 2007 1:56 AM
To: chris@chrisbolmeier.com
Subject: Purchase Of Artwork.

Well, let’s analyze this:

  • Nice introduction with her name
  • Where she found my art – notice that it’s very specific
  • How my art would help her in her new home – Hang on, I’m starting to cry just reading how my art will make her feel. Let me get a tissue.
  • Now on to the moment of truth – She asks how much is my art. Good question.
  • The killer question – She wants to pay me with a personal cheque because it’s “instant cashable.” Oh really? Hmmmm, Oookay.
  • She wants me to contact her on how to proceed. See below.

By the way, I know I should have deleted it but I just had this wonderful Italian feeling to NOT “Forget About It” (said like a good Italian mobster).

Thanks so much for the interest in my art. I don’t accept personal checks but will setup a PayPal link for you to purchase my art. The painting Shall We Camp? is sold but Field Bouncer is still availab

Thanks Again!!
Chris

Pretty tricky huh? I intentionally cut the sentence off and left some space as if I kept writing. I bet ya’ that fooled ‘em. ;) Well, I know these spammers know what they’re doin’.

I never received a reply but if I acted excited in my reply, as if I really wanted them to buy, I have a strange feeling the next reply from them would have been something like:

“Give us your bank account number and I’ll transfer my cheque there. Or, I’ll send the cheque, you send the art”.

In the end, like a good Italian, I sez… (play audio below)



Whadda think? Was this Email Fraud or Not?

See you in the comments.

Thanks,
Chris

Technorati Tags: Email Fraud

Share |

{ 11 comments… read them below or add one }

Anonymous December 4, 2007 at 10:37 pm

Yep – fraud, altho I believe the check would have been good – it’s part of a larger scam where you, should you bite, refund them some money because the check is too large…..then many moons down the road, the check isn’t good. I actually played with one of these for a while just for fun.
Tammy V (sorry about the “anon” but goodgle/blogger makes me do it)

idesign December 5, 2007 at 2:55 am

wow – the fraud people are getting tricky— the move to the Ukraine made me a little suspicious and the fact that there was not very much personnel info– I thought that sentence about checks was written a little awkward….I thought you handled it well — what does cutting off the sentence do? How can a check be good and than not good?

thanks for the education.

Chris Bolmeier December 5, 2007 at 4:52 am

Not sure Dahlia, maybe Tammy will tell us.

Chris Bolmeier December 5, 2007 at 4:53 am

About how a check can be good and then not good.
Chris

Chris Bolmeier December 5, 2007 at 4:54 am

Dahlia,
I chose to play with them by cutting off of the sentence. They probably would’ve responded if they were sincere, that’s all.
Chris

ANDREA December 5, 2007 at 8:16 am

Hi Chris, I wouldn’t even have known this to be a “Email Fraud” !!I don’t really know what a “personal check” is? I guess we don’t have this here in France. I would have been all enthousiastic about this and naïv :) Have a great week, I’m looking forward to your next beautiful colourful paintings,
Andrea

Nikki December 5, 2007 at 9:48 am

Yes, this is fraud, Chris. The broken english is a dead giveaway. I did play along for a few emails with a scam like this about two years ago, partly because for some reason I enjoy poorly written english and spelling errors. (seriously I do!) The guy was too obvious with the email address of vincent000@yahoo.(now, c’mon, that’s fairly clever!) Who could not see through that? This was before they figured out a way to leave twenty messages a day on our inboxes. BTW, while we’re on the subject, my son found a t-shirt that reads “My money went to Nigeria and all I got was this lousy t-shirt”. Love it. Do you think there is some law enforcement agency on the case of searching to find these guys?

idesign December 6, 2007 at 7:00 pm

There are government email addresses to send spam and fraud to:
spam@uce.gov
uce@ftc.gov

Kathy T. December 14, 2007 at 4:30 am

Chris, very interesting post. I’ve linked to you on Shak & Jill at http://www.shakandjill.com. Thanks for sharing your story!

Momoko Sudo November 30, 2008 at 2:25 pm

“Instant cashable” is such a funny word!

Chris November 30, 2008 at 5:55 pm

Yes it is funny. Thank for stoppin’ by. :)

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv Enabled

Spam protection by WP Captcha-Free

Previous post:

Next post: